Connect with us

24H Le Mans

Pirro Named 24H Le Mans Grand Marshal

Five-time Le Mans winner to lead field to start this year’s postponed endurance classic…

Photo: Audi

Emanuele Pirro has been named grand marshal for this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, with the five-time overall winner set to join an illustrious list of drivers that have led the field to the start of the French endurance classic.

The longtime Audi factory driver, who claimed his first Le Mans victory 20 years ago, follows in the footsteps of Hurley Haywood, who served as grand marshal last year.

Other drivers to have received the honor in recent years include Jacky Ickx (2018), Mark Webber (2017) and Tom Kristensen (2015).

“I’m delighted to be back at Le Mans in this role,” said Pirro, who serves on the FIA Drivers’ Commission. “It will be great to be back on the circuit, to test the new Porsche Curves. It used to be a key spot; you could lose a lot of time if you weren’t careful. I’m looking forward to going through there as leader of the pack.”

ACO President Pierre Fillon added: “The role of grand marshal is traditionally fulfilled by a Le Mans winner, a driver who epitomizes this race and this discipline.

“Emanuele Pirro is a perfect representative. He has won Le Mans five times, finished in the top three 10 times, and above all he is a shining light, a true leader. The 2020 field should be thrilled to be led out by a grand marshal who has put so much energy into racing and always defended drivers.”

PSA Groupe chairman Carlos Tavares was confirmed earlier this month as the event’s honorary starter.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in 24H Le Mans