Connect with us

24H Series

Herberth Porsche Wins 12H Mugello Finale

Herberth Porsche 1-2 denied due to gearbox issues late in race…

Photo: 24H Series

Herberth Motorsport has signed off the 24H Series powered by Hankook season with its third overall win of the year at the Hankook 12H Mugello.

However, the German team was denied a 1-2 finish with less an hour remaining the enduro, which was moved from its initial Zandvoort location due to COVID-19.

Ralf Bohn, Daniel Allemann and Robert Renauer took the victory in their No. 91 Porsche 911 GT3 R, with a one-lap margin over the second-placed No. 85 CP Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo of Americans Shane Lewis, Charles Espenlaub and Charlie Putman.

Herberth’s No. 92 Porsche suffered gearbox failure that led to an oil leak that brought out the race’s third Code 60 period.

The No. 58 MP Racing Mercedes Evo completed the overall podium, with the Autorama Motorsport by Wolf Power Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR DSG finishing fourth outright and taking TCR class honors.

GT4 class honors went to the No. 451 Team A via Sorg Rennsport of Björn Simon, José Manuel de los Milagros Viñegla, Sergio Paulet Diaz and Philippe Valenza.

A succession of unscheduled pit stops in the final hour ended up dropping the PROsport Racing Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4 four laps adrift although still finished second in class.

Sorg Rennsport scored the overall GT teams’ championship in the 24H Series Continents, while PROsport scored enough points to claim the overall GT teams’ title for the European season.

The No. 978 Speed Lover Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car took the 991 class victory, meanwhile.

REUSLTS: 12H Mugello

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.

Click to comment

More in 24H Series