Connect with us

24H Series

Vanthoor Quickest in Night Practice for WRT

Dries Vanthoor puts MS7 by WRT Audi on top in Night Practice in Dubai…

Photo: WRT

WRT went quickest for the second time on Thursday as Dries Vanthoor set the best time in Night Practice for the Hankook 24 Hours of Dubai, driving the MS7 by WRT Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo. 

The Belgian set a quickest time of 1:59.763 to lead the 90-minute session held entirely in darkness and interrupted by brief light rain showers.

Rain is expected to pick up overnight with showers expected to remain for most of the race on Friday and Saturday.

Black Falcon’s Mercedes-AMG GT3 was second quickest, just 0.086 seconds down on the WRT Audi, while Herberth Motorpsort placed third with its Porsche 911 GT3 R, ahead of GPX Racing’s similar car. 

Dinamic Motorsport was fastest in GT3 Am, while Heide Motorsport’s new Audi R8 LMS GT4 Evo placed first in the GT4 ranks.

Two Code 60 periods were called for a total of 20 minutes after separate incidents for the Vortex V8 and Nordschleife Racing’s Peugeot 308 Racing Cup.

A 30-minute Warmup session will be held at 10:30 a.m. local time (1:30 a.m. EST / 6:30 a.m. GMT) on Friday morning, with the race starting at 3 p.m. (6 a.m. EST / 11 a.m. GMT).

RESULTS: Night Practice

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is Sportscar365's European Editor and also Managing Editor for e-racing365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations. Contact Jake

Click to comment
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

More in 24H Series