Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Erebus Sets Bathurst 12H Lineup

Erebus Motorsport confirms its two-car lineup for Bathurst 12 Hour…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

Erebus Motorsport has confirmed its two-car lineup for this year’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, featuring past race winners Bernd Schneider and Thomas Jaeger among its six drivers.

Schneider and Jaeger will be split between the team’s two Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3s.

Jaeger will co-drive with Australian V8 Supercars ace David Reynolds and Nico Bastian in the team’s No. 36 entry, while Schneider will team with Maro Engel and Austin Cindric in the No. 63 car.

“We’ve got great hopes for this year – as usual we have two cars with line-ups which have the potential to win,” said Erebus Motorsport GT team principal Daniel Klimenko.

“From the youth of Austin to the experience of Bernd, I think this is the best line-up we’ve had.

“And given that it’s the last year which our SLSs will compete at the 12 Hour, for us, it’s a great way to see out the car.”

Schneider has two past Bathurst starts; Engel is a past polesitter and Cindric set the record last year, then 16, as the youngest driver to tackle Mount Panorama for the Bathurst 12 Hour.

Meanwhile Jaeger won the race at his first attempt with Erebus in 2013, Reynolds won the pole for last year’s Bathurst 1000 and Bastian enters with a wealth of experience from the ADAC GT Masters and the VLN Endurance Championship, among other GT series.

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony

Click to comment

More in Intercontinental GT Challenge