Connect with us

Other Series

McLaren GT Confirms 2016 Factory Driver Lineup

Côme Ledogar joins McLaren GT factory lineup for 2016…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency/SRO

Photo: Vision Sport Agency/SRO

McLaren GT has confirmed its factory driver lineup for 2016, naming Côme Ledogar as its newest works driver alongside Rob Bell and Alvaro Parente.

Ledogar, 24, replaces Bruno Senna in the lineup and will be placed in the Blancpain Endurance Series with a yet-to-be announced team.

Additionally, newly signed K-PAX Racing driver Colin Thompson has joined the recently announced Driver Academy program.

While Parente will also team with Thompson in Pirelli World Challenge this year, 2015/2016 Asian Le Mans Series GT champion Bell will take part in the entire Blancpain GT Series, with his team also yet to be announced.

“It is great to have Alvaro and Rob confirmed again for the year as both bring a huge amount of experience in terms of GT racing, but also in terms of the 650S GT3 specifically, having both driven to titles in its first full year of competition,” said McLaren GT Managing Director Andrew Kirkaldy.

“I am also really pleased to announce Côme as an addition to our Factory Driver line-up and Colin as the latest member of the Driver Academy.

“Côme really impressed us when he raced with one of our customer teams at Spa a few years ago and we have kept a close eye on his progress, while Colin joined us for a test at Paul Ricard in December and is very exciting to watch in a GT car.

“With the combination that our factory line-up offers, along with the talent in our Driver Academy, we are hoping for another good year.”

McLaren GT has a strong presence in this weekend’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, with both Bell and Parente in Australia to support the Tekno Autosports team.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in Other Series