Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Mercedes-AMG Unveils Four-Car Pro Lineup for N24

Mercedes-AMG looking to end winless streak at Eifel classic dating back to 2016…

Photo: Gruppe C Photography

Mercedes-AMG has unveiled its four-car Pro lineup for the Nürburgring 24 with which it will aim to end an eight-year winless streak at the Eifel endurance classic.

Even though it finished on the overall podium for each of the last three editions, Mercedes-AMG’s last win in the N24 dates back to 2016.

This means that, out of each of the ‘big four’ German manufacturers at the event, it has gone the longest without a race win.

Audi won most recently in 2022, with Porsche triumphing in 2021 and BMW in 2020. Last year, all four brands were beaten to victory by the Frikadelli Racing Team Ferrari 296 GT3.

For this year’s edition, which will double up as a round of the Intercontinental GT Challenge for the first time, Haupt Racing Team and GetSpeed Performance field two factory-backed cars each.

HRT’s effort, running under the Mercedes-AMG Team Bilstein banner, is headlined by the No. 4 Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo with a lineup consisting of Maximilian Goetz, Daniel Juncadella, Arjun Maini and Luca Stolz.

Juncadella, who raced alongside Jules Gounon and Maro Engel last year, joins Mercedes-AMG at the N24 despite his status as a Corvette factory driver.

Maini, meanwhile, will be pulling double duty at the event as he is also entered aboard the No. 3 car alongside Michele Beretta, Frank Bird and Jusuf Owega.

Owega is one of five Mercedes-AMG-contracted drivers to be making their debut at the event, a list that also includes Lucas Auer.

Auer has been entered aboard the No. 8 Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed entry, driving alongside Adam Christodoulou, Philip Ellis and Mikael Grenier.

GetSpeed’s second car is set to be driven by Engel, Gounon and Fabian Schiller.

Mercedes-AMG will be represented by two further SP9 Pro-Am entries: one from HRT and one from Schnitzelalm Racing.

Finally, former DTM driver David Schumacher makes his N24 debut in a Schnitzelalm-entered Mercedes-AMG GT4 alongside Tim Neuser, David Thilenius and Moritz Wiskirchen.

Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Intercontinental GT Challenge