Connect with us

GT4 Europe

Ebor GT Sweeps Zandvoort as Ekris Crowned Champion

Ebor GT sweeps Zandvoort, Ekris wins title…

Photo: GT4 European Series

Charlie Fagg and Phil Glew won the second race of the GT4 European Series Northern Cup at Zandvoort on Sunday morning while Ekris Motorsport drivers Ricardo van der Ende and Max Koebolt clinched the Silver Cup and teams’ titles on the outfit’s home track.

The No. 60 Ebor GT Motorsport Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4 started from pole position and Fagg was able to keep Mads Siljehaug and Nyls Stievenart behind.

Siljehaug dropped down the order when he spun out of the Hans Ernst corner four minutes into the race, which promoted Stievenart to second place.

Stievenart was unable to keep up with race leader Fagg and his day got worse when a fire broke out on his Ginetta. Stievenart got out of the car and the race was red flagged in order to extinguish the fire and clear the track.

The cars returned to the pits, where the decision was taken to perform the driver change before the race was restarted.

Once everything had been cleared, the cars were sent back out onto the track behind the safety car.

 With 17 minutes left on the clock the green flags were waved and Glew immediately pulled away from Willem Meijer in the RYS Team Kiska KTM and Finlay Hutchison in the Equipe Verschuur McLaren, gaining several seconds per lap.

Seven minutes from the end Meijer threw away an almost certain podium position when he ran wide at Scheivlak. This allowed Hutchison to move into second place and Van der Ende into third, 15 seconds behind race leader Glew.

Glew’s lead was reduced when Jamie Vandenbalck spun into the gravel, causing another safety car. After two green flag laps the checkered flag came out, with Glew taking Ebor GT Motorsport’s second win of the weekend.

Hutchison finished in second place, with Van der Ende securing the final Silver Cup podium position and the teams’ title for Ekris Motorsport.

In Pro-Am Ander Vilarino and Nicolas Leutwiler seemed on their way to victory, but on the penultimate lap Vilarino ran wide at the Arie Luyendyk corner.

The No. 111 RN Vision STS Porsche Cayman CS MR GT4 moved into the lead, but on the last lap Razvan Umbrarescu was passed by Jörg Viebahn in the #22 Allied-Racing Porsche.

However, there was contact, Viebahn was given a penalty and Umbrarescu and Piana were declared winners.

Scuderia Villorba Corse drivers Romy Dall’Antonia and Giuseppe Fascicolo won the Am class with their Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4, finishing just 0.215s clear of Ivan Vlachkov in the Sofia Car Motorsport SIN R1 GT4.

Autorlando Sport drivers Giuseppe Ghezzi and Manuele Mengozzi finished in third place.


The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in GT4 Europe