Connect with us


20 Entries for Navarra

20 cars for the FIA GT Series round at Navarra, Spain…

Photo: VIMAGES/Fabre

Photo: VIMAGES/Fabre

The Circuito de Navarra in northern Spain will host the FIA GT Series penultimate round of the season this weekend and the provisional starting entry list shows that twenty cars are entered for the fifth round of the 2013 season.

ENTRY LIST: Click Here

Belgian Audi Club Team WRT drivers Laurens Vanthoor and Stephane Ortelli head to Spain with a 19-point lead over teammates Frank Stippler and Edward Sandstrom and a further 12 points over René Rast and Niki Mayr-Melnhof. With a maximum of 34 points to be scored in a weekend Vanthoor and Ortelli can make a huge step towards the title this weekend, if not winning it.

In the FIA GT Series Teams Championship Belgian Audi Club Team WRT leads the Pro category with 120 points, 36 more than Sebastien Loeb Racing. The Belgian team missed out on winning the Blancpain Endurance Series last weekend but is eager to clinch the title in the FIA GT Series at Navarra.

Unfortunately a clash between the FIA GT Series and the ADAC GT Masters means a number of drivers will not be racing in Spain. Newly crowned Blancpain Endurance Series Pro Cup Champion Maximilian Buhk will stay in Germany, while Oliver Jarvis will replace René Rast in the No. 13 Audi R8 LMS ultra.

Reigning FIA GT1 World Champion Marc Basseng will once more race in the Lamborghini Gallardo FLII and he hopes to have more luck than the last time out in Slovakia. Zolder race winner Stefan Rosina will join Basseng.

Vita4One Racing Team will also race at Navarra and Michael Bartels’ team has entered one BMW Z4 GT3 for Dutchman Yelmer Buurman and Indian driver Karun Chandhok, available as his regular team SMS Seyffarth Motorsport will not be in Navarra. In the BMW Sports Trophy Team Brasil BMW Z4 GT3 Atila Abreu replaces ex-F1 driver Ricardo Zonta.

HTP Gravity Charouz drivers Sergey Afanasiev and Andreas Simonsen are the Pro-Am points leaders, having scored eight points more than GRT Grasser Racing Team’s Dominik Baumann and Hari Proczyk. Baumann is unavailable this weekend and will be replaced by Gerhard Tweraser.

Blancpain Endurance Series Pro-Am Teams Champion Nissan GT Academy Team RJN will bring two Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3 cars to Spain. Local hero and Blancpain champion Lucas Ordonez will share the No. 35 with Alex Buncombe, while Wolfgang Reip and Steve Doherty will drive the No. 32. The Von Ryan Racing team will join the FIA GT Series at Navarra with a McLaren MP4-12C GT3 for Gregoire Demoustier and Duncan Tappy.

Marcel ten Caat (@marceltencaat) is a contributor to Sportscar365 and other publications including

Click to comment

More in BSS