Connect with us


21 Full-Season Entries for Blancpain Sprint

21 cars sign up for Blancpain Sprint Series this year…

Photo: Vincent Wouters

Photo: Vincent Wouters

Twenty one cars have signed up for the Blancpain Sprint Series this year, with no less than nine brands represented in the series.

ENTRY LIST: Blancpain Sprint Series

The Belgian Audi Club Team WRT and Bentley Team HTP will continue their rivalry with four and two cars respectively.

BMW Team Brasil starts its third season in the series with the goal of winning races this year, while Reiter Engineering returns full-time with two brand new Gallardo Extenso R-EX cars.

The Czech team ISR also has high expectations with its two Audis, with the sole Phoenix Racing Audi of Mark Winkelhoc and Nicki Mayr-Melnhof bringing the total number of R8s up to seven.

Fach Auto Tech will represent Porsche for the first time during all seven weekends, while Rinaldi Racing should give Ferrari a good chance at a podium or win with Marco Seefried en Norbert Siedler behind the wheel.

Besides the Endurance Series, Attempto Racing will also field two McLarens in the one-hour sprints, though not with the 650S but with the older MP4-12C.

Craig Dolby and Sean Walkinshaw will compete with the sole 2015-spec Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3, entered by the German MRS GT team.

GT Russian Team adds an extra Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 this year, with one car due to compete in the Pro-Am Cup, where it will race against the Fach Auto Tech Porsche.

Fortec also returns with one SLS, the only car entered in the Silver Cup so far.

SRO is confident that race-by-race entries will further strengthen the grid during the season, with a capacity field once again expected at Baku.

Vincent Wouters (@VinceWouters) is a Belgium-based sports car racing reporter, providing coverage primarily of the Blancpain GT Series.

Click to comment

More in BSS