Connect with us

Racing Roundup

Weekly Racing Roundup (12.12.22)

Recap from Thailand Super Series finale and China GT, plus news and notes…

Photo: Absolute Racing

***B-Quik Absolute Racing’s Akash Nandy and Sandy Stuvik clinched the Thailand Super Series title after the Honda pairing of Jacopo Guidetti and Andrea Gagliardini at the Buriram season finale. The championship was decided in the ultimate race when Vattana Motorsport’s leading Honda NSX GT3 Evo22 developed a puncture in the closing minutes, enabling Stuvik to take the win. Philip Massoud and Daniel Bilski then won the season finale for B-Quik Absolute.

***FAW Audi Racing Team’s Chris Chia won the China GT Championship during the four-race season finale at Pingtan. Chia’s victory in the second contest gave him enough points to secure the title.

***Audi Sport factory driver Luca Engstler was part of the winning lineup at the Killarney 9 Hour in South Africa. Engstler shared an MJR Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II with Andrew Rackstraw and newly-crowned South African Endurance Series champion Kwanda Mokoena.

***Maxime Robin, Arnold Robin and Aston Martin factory driver Valentin Hasse-Clot will team up in a TF Sport entry for the 2023 European Le Mans Series. The Robin brothers previously shared a Team WRT Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II in SRO competition but will now debut in an Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

***The GT4 European Series will race at Misano rather than the Nürburgring next year, the series confirmed last week. Both are GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS support slots.

***Will Tregurtha and Mark Sansom have signed with Barwell Motorsport for an Intelligent Money British GT Championship program with a Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2. Last year’s DTM Trophy runner-up Tregurtha shared an Assetto Motorsport Bentley Continental GT3 with Sansom in 2022.

***After announcing its purchase of two Type-992 Porsche 911 GT3 Rs, Car Collection Motorsport has also confirmed the addition of two Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport MRs to its stable. The German squad plans to race them in the NLS, 24H Series and GTC.

***Greystone GT has committed to the new McLaren Trophy series that will support GTWC Europe events next year. It will run an Artura Trophy for 2015 European Le Mans Series champion Jon Lancaster and American racer Ron Trenka.

***BMW announced the winners of its internal BMW M Sports Trophy. Pirelli GT4 America Am class champions James Clay and Charlie Postins shared the driver award, while DTM champion Schubert Motorsport scooped the team prize.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Racing Roundup