Connect with us


FIA Releases 2016 Driver Ratings

FIA releases list of 2016 driver ratings…


The FIA has released an updated list of driver ratings for 2016, featuring a number of noteworthy changes for the upcoming international sports car racing seasons.

The ratings (Platinum, Gold, Silver, Bronze) are recognized in the majority of Pro-Am enforced series worldwide, including the FIA World Endurance Championship, Blancpain GT Series, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, European and Asian Le Mans Series, as well as various domestic and continental GT3 championships.

Some notable changes for 2016 include:

Vincent Abril — Silver to Gold
Earl Bamber — Gold to Platinum
Joao Barbosa — Gold to Platinum
Terry Borcheller — Gold to Silver
Maxi Buhk — Gold to Platinum
Austin Cindric — Silver
Andrew Davis — Silver to Gold
Tom Dilmann — Silver to Gold
Mario Farnbacher  — Silver to Gold
Paul Gentilozzi — Silver to Bronze
Marc Goossens — Platinum to Gold
Cameron Lawrence — Silver to Gold
Katherine Legge — Gold to Silver
Maurizio Mediani — Gold to Silver
Andy Pilgrim — Gold to Silver
John Potter — Silver to Bronze
Billy Johnson — Silver to Gold
Alex Riberas — Silver to Gold
Wolfgang Reip — Silver to Gold
Mark Shulzhitskiy — Silver to Gold
Jonathan Summerton — Silver to Gold
Jeff Segal — Silver to Gold
James Sofronas — Silver to Bronze
Harry Tincknell — Gold to Platinum
Sylvain Tremblay – Gold to Silver
Stefan Wilson — Gold to Silver
Nick Yelloly — Silver to Gold

Of note, Scott Pruett, who turned 55 in March, remains a Gold-rated driver for 2016.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in Industry