Connect with us


Lime Rock to Decide Final Rolex Series Champions

DP, GT titles up for grabs in Rolex Series finale at Lime Rock…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

Only one race remains on the 2013 GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series schedule. The pairings of Jordan Taylor/Max Angelelli and Scott Pruett/Memo Rojas will lead the pack battling it out for the 2013 Daytona Prototype (DP) drivers’ title in Saturday’s season-ending Championship Weekend Presented by BMW race at Lime Rock Park.

Taylor and Angelelli won the two most recent races in Wayne Taylor Racing’s No. 10 Velocity Worldwide Corvette DP to enter the finale with an eight-point lead (304-296) over Pruett and Rojas, in the No. 01 TELMEX/Telcel BMW/Riley fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates.

Taylor and Angelelli can clinch the title with a fourth-place finish in Saturday’s race, that starts at 1:30 p.m. ET (FOX Sports 2 live; FOX Sports 1, Sunday, Sept. 29, noon ET).

History is on the side of Taylor and Angelelli at Lime Rock. Wayne Taylor Racing has been undefeated since DPs began racing at the circuit in 2010, with Angelelli joined by Ricky Taylor in all three victories. Meanwhile, Pruett and Rojas struggled each time at the tight 1.53-mile layout, with their best finish seventh in both 2011 and 2012 after a last-place finish following a first-lap crash in 2010.

Should the leaders stumble, six other drivers are also in the hunt for the drivers’ championship.

Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty, No. 99 GAINSCO Auto Insurance Corvette DP, have 293 points, followed by Christian Fittipaldi (291) and Joao Barbosa (289) in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP, and Alex Popow and Ryan Dalziel in the No. 2 Popow Starworks Motorsport BMW/Riley.

Another title on the line at Lime Rock is the DP team championship. Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates currently leads the DP team standings by 11 points over Wayne Taylor Racing (315-304).

In GT, Andy Lally and John Potter and the No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 team, hold a narrow four-point lead over Alessandro Balzan (313-309) and Scuderia Corsa entering the Lime Rock finale. Lally and Potter scored their first victory of the season in the most recent event at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, while Balzan won two races ago at Kansas Speedway in the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 458 Italia.

John Edwards and Robin Liddell have a class-high four victories in the No. 57 Stevenson Auto Group Chevrolet Camaro, and enter the finale 11 points behind with 302 points.

Scuderia Corsa and Stevenson Motorsports both entered a second car for the finale. Johannes van Overbeek and Jeff Westphal will pilot the No. 64 Ferrari 458, while ALMS GT points leaders Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia will co-drive the No. 75 Camaro.

Jim Norman enters the race with an 11-point lead over Mazda driver Joel Miller (361-350) in the GX class, and can clinch by driving 30 minutes in the No. 38 BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman co-driven by Spencer Pumpelly. BGB Motorsports will clinch the GX title with a third-place finish.

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.


More in GRAND-AM