Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

34 Cars on CTSC Entry List for COTA

34 cars are set for the CTSC round at COTA…

Photo: IMSA/Jake Galstad

Photo: IMSA/Jake Galstad

Thirty four cars split evenly between the GS and ST classes are set to take part in the next weekend’s IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge race at Circuit of The Americas.


The 17 GS entrants is up eight from the nine cars that competed in the class last year, but does not include current championship leaders Jade Buford and Scott Maxwell.

The duo began the season racing a new Ford Mustang under the Multimatic Motorsports banner, earning a fifth-place result in the season-opener at Daytona before a last-minute switch to the KohR Motorsports for Round 2 at Sebring, which they went on to win.

Maxwell, who is the defending series co-champion, and Buford both indicated after the Sebring race that the future of their racing program was up in the air, and currently they are not slated to take part in the championship’s next round at COTA.

Their absence provides a big opportunity for the CJ Wilson Racing pairing of Damien Faulkner and Russell Ward who sit second in the championship after a strong start to the year in their Porsche Cayman GT4, as well as their teammates Marc Miller and Till Bechtolsheimer in the team’s sister Porsche.

New to the entry list is the Stevenson Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R which will be making its series debut at the hands of Matt Bell and Robin Liddell.

Other changes include Rob Ecklin Jr. replacing Al Carter in the No. 99 Automatic Racing Aston Martin Vantage and the departure of the No. 38 BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman GT4 MR that competed at Sebring with James Cox and John Tecce.

In all, five different manufacturers make up the 17-car GS field.

The ST ranks remain largely unchanged, with a pair of new drivers in the No. 52 MINI JCW Team MINI as the most noteworthy alteration from the field that took part in the racing at Sebring.

Note Norenberg and Tyler Stone replace Jared Salinsky and Mark Pombo in that car, while the rest of the field remains unchanged.

Six different manufacturers make up the 17 car grid, with Porsche leading the way with five ST-spec Caymans entered.

The Circuit of the Americas 120 is scheduled for 2:45-4:45 p.m. CT on Friday, May 5th with live streaming coverage at

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.


More in Michelin Pilot Challenge