Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

CTSC ST Champs McCumbee, McAleer Shift to Freedom Autosport

McCumbee, McAleer move to Freedom Autosport for 2016…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge ST class champions Chad McCumbee and Stevan McAleer are staying together, and staying with Mazda, to defend their crown in the 2016 season.

The funny thing is that they’ll be joining the team they beat last year, Freedom Autosport, to do so.

McCumbee and McAleer headline a three-car lineup of Mazda MX-5s for the 2016 season at Freedom, with Andrew Carbonell and U.S. Marine Staff Sgt. Liam Dwyer back for a second full season together in the No. 26 car and Britt Casey, Jr. and Danny Bender in the third car, the No. 27 car.

McCumbee and McAleer shift from CJ Wilson Racing, which advanced into GS leaving these two to sort out different plans, to Freedom and will drive the No. 25 Mazda MX-5.

“It’s quite exciting for us with Freedom Autosport being the competition for the last three years,” McAleer said.

“We’re excited about our continued partnership with ModSpace, and I’m really looking forward to the season. Liam and Andrew are good friends of ours, and for a combined effort this year we’ll have a really strong lineup.”

“We’ve always competed against Freedom Autosport,” McCumbee added. “I know they put a top quality product out there, and being able to drive for them this year, I hope we can repeat the championship.”

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge