Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

De Quesada Storms to Laguna Pole in MIA McLaren

Motorsports In Action McLaren Artura GT4 on pole for this afternoon’s Michelin Pilot Challenge race…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Michael de Quesada will start this afternoon’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge race at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca from the pole, after edging out Jaden Conwright and Jesse Webb for top pole honors.

De Quesada, who posted the quickest time in Friday’s afternoon practice session, took his No. 69 Motorsports In Action McLaren Artura GT4 to a best lap of 1:27.455 in the 15-minute GS qualifying session.

It was 0.313 seconds quicker than Conwright, in his debut with the No. 50 Hattori Motorsports Toyota GR Supra GT4 EVO, and just 0.004 seconds quicker than Webb, who was demoted to third in the No. 34 JMF Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 in the closing stages.

Stevan McAleer and Rory van der Steur completed the top-five, at the wheel of the No. 28 RS1 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport and No. 19 van der Steur Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT4, respectively.

The TCR class saw Bryan Ortiz claim top qualifying honors in his No. 6 Montreal Motorsports Group Honda Civic FL5 TCR.

Ortiz’s 1:29.175 lap time was 0.0337 seconds quicker than class points leader Chris Miller in the No. 15 JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi RS 3 LMS TCR.

Harry Gottsacker was quickest of the Hyundai Elantra N TCRs, slotting in third in class for this afternoon’s two-hour race.

The WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca 120 takes the green flag at 2 p.m. PDT (5 p.m. EDT) with live coverage on Peacock and IMSA Radio.

RESULTS: Qualifying

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge