Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Rebel Rock Camaro GT4 Takes CTMP Win

Robin Liddell, Frank DePew win Michelin Pilot Challenge race at CTMP…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Rebel Rock Racing held on to win Saturday afternoon’s Canadian Tire Motorsports Park 120 with Robin Liddell and Frank DePew.

Liddell stayed out front in the No. 71 Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R despite pressure from rivals lasting all the way up until the last lap at the Ontario circuit.

He took his tenth series win by a margin of just 0.587 seconds ahead of Kyle Marcelli, who emerged as the most likely challenger rather late in the race.

DePew and Liddell moved up the field from a poor starting position, running with the TCR field for the first part of the race and only breaking into the top ten just before the halfway mark.

Liddell, on a different strategy to his rivals, moved into the lead with 40 minutes left on the clock when the leading cars made their final pit stops.

This allowed him to move the Camaro from tenth to first in the space of five laps. 

Jesse Lazare was one of the last drivers to pit in his Motorsports in Action McLaren 570S GT4, and the Canadian’s strategy call proved unsuccessful, dropping back to fifth from the lead.

Lazare, having taken over from Corey Fergus, had been leading for almost 40 minutes before Liddell assumed the top spot.

Thereafter, the Rebel Rock driver remained out front with Marcelli trailing him in the KohR Motorsports Ford Mustang GT4, while Lazare crossed the line 3.5 seconds down in third.

Owen Trinkler started from pole in the No. 46 Team TGM Mercedes-AMG GT4 and battled for the lead early on with Ben Rhodes and Tyler McQuarrie, driving for Multimatic Motorsports and Carbahn Motorsports, respectively.

McQuarrie’s teammate Westphal was the only one of the early leaders to hold onto a top position after the first round of stops, and his Audi R8 LMS GT4 eventually finished fourth.

Casey, Taylor Win TCR After Late-Race Drama

Britt Casey Jr. and Mikey Taylor took TCR class honors in their JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi RS 3 LMS TCR despite a series of risky overtakes for the lead late on.

Stephen Simpson had been leading for a while in the No. 54 JDC-Miller car, despite stretching his fuel mileage for over an hour.

With six minutes to go, he was able to build up some of the gap he had started to lose, when Todd Lamb moved into second for Atlanta Speedwerks.

Soon after, however, Simpson and Casey made contact when the field bunched back up, sending both JDC-Miller cars off track momentarily, before Simpson and Jon Morley had a brief coming-together.

This allowed Casey to move into the lead and eventually take the win ahead of LA Honda World Racing’s Colin Mullan.

RESULTS: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park 120

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge