Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Roush Jr. Takes KohR Mustang GT4 to CTSC Pole at VIR

Jack Roush Jr. takes pole for Biscuitville Grand Prix…

Photo: Scott LePage/IMSA

Jack Roush Jr. will start tomorrow’s Biscuitville Grand Prix from the pole, with KohR Motorsports again delivering in IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge competition, this time at Virginia International Raceway.

Roush Jr. reeled off a 1:54.621 lap time in the No. 59 Ford Mustang GT4, edging out the No. 57 Stevenson Motorsports Camaro GT4.R of Matt Bell by 0.351 seconds.

It was the team’s third pole of the season following co-driver Dean Martin’s pole at the season-opener at Daytona and Scott Maxwell’s top qualifying run at Sebring.

“This is the place I really started road racing in what was then Grand-am, and now IMSA,” Roush said. “It’s a pretty cool place and it’s great to be back.

“The GT4 is amazing here. It really is unlike any other previous generation racing Mustang that I’ve driven. It’s very well engineered, much more advanced technology. It’s a true production race car built out of a production chassis.”

GS championship leader Dylan Murcott qualified third, thanks to a late flyer in his No. 28 RS1 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR, followed by the No. 69 Motorsport In Action McLaren 570S GT4 of Chris Green in fourth.

The No. 7 VOLT Racing entry made it two of the newly homologated Mustang GT4s in the top-five.

There were issues for both of the C360R McLarens, with the No. 77 car not setting a time and the No. 76 entry of Paul Holton stopping on track early in the the 15-minute session.

James Clay scored his second ST class pole of the season, taking his No. 84 BimmerWorld 328i to a fast lap of 2:03.584 with only seconds remaining in the 15-minute session.

Clay denied Sarah Cattaneo the pole, who ended up 0.169 seconds slower in the No. 44 CRG I-Do-Borrow Nissan Altima in second.

Christian Szymczak qualified the No. 34 Murillo Racing Mazda MX-5 third in class, with Jeff Mosing’s championship-leading No. 56 Murillo Racing Porsche Cayman making it four different manufacturers in the top-four.

The session saw an accident by the No. 73 MINI JCW of Derek Jones, which ended qualifying in the barriers.

The Biscuitville Grand Prix gets underway Saturday at 2:10 p.m. ET with live coverage on

RESULTS: Qualifying

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge