Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Stevenson Goes Back to Back With Lime Rock Win

Stevenson picks up second straight win with Camaro GT4.R…

Photo: Brian Cleary/

Two weeks after earning the first win for the Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R in global competition at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Stevenson Motorsports got back to victory lane with a convincing victory in the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge Lime Rock Park 120.

Starting second on the grid, Matt Bell made the pass around pole sitter and championship leader Trent Hindman’s Bodymotion Racing Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport 45 minutes into the race entering Big Bend and held the lead the rest of the way.

Bell’s pass was aided by the team’s decision to change tires during the pit stop while many of the class frontrunners chose to stay on their original rubber or remain on track.

Robin Liddell took over for Bell during the first full course caution of the race and was never threatened, pulling away to earn the win by a margin on 2.784 seconds over Dillon Machavern in the No. 28 RS1 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR.

Marc Miller secured a strong third for CJ Wilson Racing despite being dropped to fifth after contact with Stephen Simpson in the ST class BMW 228i for JDC Motorsports caused him to go on a wild spin.

Jessse Lazarre finished fourth in the No. 69 Motorsports In Action McLaren 570S GT4 with Cameron Cassells completing the top five in the pole-sitting Bodymotion Racing machine.

Freedom Autosport drivers Stevan McAleer and Chad McCumbee won in the ST class at Lime Rock for the third straight year in the No. 25 Mazda MX-5, 5.869 seconds ahead of their teammates Britt Casey Jr. and Matt Fassnacht in the sister No. 27 entry.

The chance for a Mazda sweep of the ST podium was denied with just under 15-minutes to go when Casey spun in the final turn and collected the Murillo Racing Mazda of Christian Szymczak who was following close behind.

Szymczak’s No. 34 car took the bulk of the damage and had to head to pit lane for repairs, while Casey was able to continue on and secure the second step on the podium.

Tyler Cooke took third for BimmerWorld Racing in the No. 85 BMW 328i.

The race was slowed by two caution periods, the first of which came when the No. 35 CJ Wilson Racing Porsche stopped off track nearly 30 minutes into the race, while the second came with 46 minutes remaining when the No. 26 Freedom Autosports Mazda stopped on track.

RESULTS: Lime Rock Park 120

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

1 Comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge