Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

49 Entries for 12H Sebring

49 cars entered for Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

A total of 49 cars are set to take part in next weekend’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, with the entry list for the second round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship having been released.

The race will also double as the second leg of the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup.

ENTRY LIST: Twelve Hours of Sebring

Defending race winners Action Express Racing headline the Prototype class, which features 12 entries. Filipe Albuquerque rejoins Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi in the No. 5 car, with Scott Pruett moving over to the No. 31 car alongside Dane Cameron and Eric Curran.

Tequila Patron ESM heads to Sebring with an identical lineup that took the Florida-based team to overall victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona; they’ll be joined by four other P2 cars, including the similarly prepared Ligier JS P2 Honda from Michael Shank Racing.

The big news, however, has come with a performance cut for the Honda and Nissan-powered P2 cars, which had set the pace in last month’s IMSA-sanctioned test at Sebring.

The P class sees two new entries for Sebring, with the race debut of the DragonSpeed Oreca 05 Nissan of Nicolas Lapierre, Nic Minassian and Henrik Hedman, as well as the Alegra Motorsports Riley BMW DP.

Dominik Farnbacher is set for his P class debut in the Alegra entry alongside Cameron Lawrence, Daniel Morad and Carlos de Quesada.

Rubens Barrichello, meanwhile, is again listed in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP as a fourth driver.

Seven cars are entered in Prototype Challenge, which will see the debut of new electronics and an upgraded electronics package to the spec Oreca FLM09s.

There are no major surprises in terms of entries, with BAR1 Motorsports focusing on a single entry, with Michael Lyons set for his class debut in one of the Starworks entries.

There will be a full field of ten GT Le Mans class cars, featuring a mix of Corvettes, BMWs, Ford, Ferraris and Porsches.

Corvette Racing will be seeking back-to-back WeatherTech Championship class wins, while also defending their class win at Sebring one year ago. The team remains with an unchanged driver lineup from Daytona.

Of note, Ferrari factory driver Andrea Bertolini joins the No. 68 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GTE alongside Alessandro Pier Guidi and Daniel Serra.

With 20 cars, the GT Daytona class is again the most represented, and with seven manufacturers set to do battle for class honors.

It includes Audi, which will have four entries between Stevenson Motorsports, Flying Lizard Motorsports and Rolex 24 class winners Magnus Racing.

The new Ferrari 488 GT3 will debut in the hands of Scuderia Corsa with drivers Alessandro Balzan, Christina Nielsen and Jeff Segal, while there will be six Lamborghini Huracan GT3s on the grid.

Among the Lamborghini contingent is the new second Change Racing entry, which will be driven by Bill Sweedler, Townsend Bell and Richard Antinucci, as revealed by Sportscar365 on Tuesday.

Dream Racing, meanwhile, will make its series debut, also in a Huracan GT3, along with two Konrad Motorsport entries.

Of note, TRG-AMR is not entered, marking the first time in recent history a Kevin Buckler-entered car will not be on the grid in Florida endurance classic.

The Twelve Hours of Sebring is set for March 19.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship