Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

49 Entries for 6H Watkins Glen

Bumper entry list revealed for third round of IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

A total of 49 entries are set for next weekend’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen, the third round of the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup.

The grid for the first five-class WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race since the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring is comprised of seven DPis and LMP2s, 11 LMP3 entries, seven GTD Pro contenders and 17 GTD cars.

Both Action Express Racing and JDC-Miller Motorsports have opted to go with three-driver lineups for its Cadillac DPi-V.Rs, which will see the return of Mike Conway (No. 31) and Loic Duval (No. 5), in addition to the No. 48 AXR car of Mike Rockenfeller, Kamui Kobayashi and Jimmie Johnson.

LMP2 sees the return of Racing Team Nederland’s Oreca 07 Gibson along with third drivers, which are also mandated in the LMP3 and GTD classes.

GTD Pro features the addition of the previously announced Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo 2020 for Davide Rigon and Daniel Serra, while it appears Jack Hawkworth will miss his second consecutive event, with his place filled as a “TBD” in the No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3.

The GTD class will mark its largest grid since Sebring with a number of European and U.S.-based entrants back in action.

It includes the No. 21 AF Corse and No. 47 Cetilar Racing Ferraris, Crucial Motorsports’ and Inception Racing’s McLaren 720S GT3s, the No. 42 NTE Sport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo, Gradient Racing’s Acura NSX GT3 Evo22, THe No. 99 Hardpoint Porsche 911 GT3 R as well as Magnus Racing’s Aston Martin Vantage GT3.

Winward Racing, meanwhile, has added a second Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo for Alec Udell and two to-be-confirmed drivers.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship