Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

53 Entries for 12H Sebring

Bumper field announced for second round of IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season…

Photo: Brett Farmer/IMSA

A total of 53 cars are on the entry list for next weekend’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

The bumper entry list for the second round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and Michelin Endurance Cup season sees seven DPis, eight LMP2 entries, ten LMP3s, 11 GTD Pro machines and 17 GTD cars. 

While not featuring any to-be-announced drivers on the official entry, there will be at least one change due to Wednesday’s announcement of Kevin Magnussen returning to Haas F1 on a full-time basis.

Magnussen, who will be in Bahrain for the Formula 1 season-opener, is currently listed to drive the No. 02 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R alongside Earl Bamber and Alex Lynn. 

Among other driver changes in DPi include the previously announced Jose Maria Lopez and Stoffel Vandoorne, who are subbing for the NTT IndyCar Series-tied Jimmie Johnson and Helio Castroneves, respectively, as well as Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No. 01 CGR Cadillac, who is in for Scott Dixon.

LMP2 sees the Rolex 24 at Daytona class-wining DragonSpeed outfit debut its full-season lineup of Juan Pablo Montoya and Henrik Hedman, who will be joined by Montoya’s 16-year-old son, Sebastian, for Sebring.

Anthony Mantella is listed in the No. 7 Forty7 Motorsports Duqueine D08 Nissan in LMP3, while Cameron Shields is set to be the third driver in Performance Tech Motorsports’ Ligier JS P320 Nissan.

As previously announced, Aaron Telitz will make his GTD Pro debut in the No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3, in place of Kyle Kirkwood, who is also prioritizing the IndyCar race at Texas Motor Speedway next weekend.

Scott Andrews has filled Telitz’s place in the No. 12 Lexus in GTD, meanwhile.

TR3 Racing is set to return for Sebring with its all-Lamborghini factory driver lineup in GTD Pro, while Racers Edge Motorsports with WTR will debut its Acura NSX GT3 Evo for Ashton Harrison, Kyle Marcelli and Tom Long.

WeatherTech Racing’s Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo also returns after an initial one-off at Daytona

GTD sees the debut of Paul Miller Racing’s BMW M4 GT3, which will be driven by Bryan Sellers, Madison Snow and BMW Junior Erik Johansson. 

Marvin Dienst, meanwhile, is set to join Russell Ward and Phillip Ellis in the No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes.  

Compared to the record 61-car entry list for January’s Rolex 24 at Daytona, the Sebring entry does not feature the pair of LMP2 class G-Drive Racing by APR Oreca 07 Gibsons, as well as only a single Muehlner Motorsport Duqueine in LMP3.

Daytona GTD Pro podium finisher KCMG is also not preset as expected, along with fellow international entries from T1 Motorsport and Northwest AMR, which were for Daytona-only as well.

Other teams not present include Team TGM, SunEnergy1 Racing and additional entries from Proton Competition and TR3.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship