Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

67 Entries for Rolex 24 at Daytona

IMSA releases entry list for TUDOR Championship-opening Rolex 24…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

IMSA released Wednesday the entry list for the 52nd annual Rolex 24 at Daytona, the opening round of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

Featuring 67 entries, between the four classes (Prototype, Prototype Challenge, GT Le Mans, GT Daytona), the list reflects some notable changes seen from the Roar Before the Rolex 24 earlier this month.

ENTRY LIST: Click Here

There are now a total of 18 Prototype entries, including the addition of the No. 78 Starworks Motorsport Riley-Dinan for drivers Alex Popow, Scott Mayer and newly signed Porsche factory driver Brendon Hartley.

The Peter Baron-led squad’s DP, which was the second car on the Prototype reserve list, gains a race entry as a result of the withdrawal of both Level 5 Motorsports Prototype Challenge entries as well as the second BAR1 Motorsports Oreca FLM09.

As a result, Level 5’s No. 556 Ferrari 458 Italia GT3, which was second on GTD reserve list, also gains a race entry, along with the previously confirmed No. 64 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari, which was third on the list of GTD alternates.

The remaining reserve entries, in all classes, are believed to have been withdrawn, meaning the race will not reach the maximum capacity of 68 cars.

Notable additions to driver lineups in the P class include open-wheel rising star Gabby Chaves joining the DeltaWing entry, as well as former Indy Lights driver Oliver Webb being listed as the fourth driver in OAK Racing’s Morgan-Nissan.

As expected, Mazda alumni James Hinchcliffe and Tristan Vautier complete the lineups in the SpeedSource’s two SKYACTIV-D powered Mazda P2 cars, while Burt Frisselle has been added as a fourth driver to the No. 5 Action Express Corvette DP, alongside the No. 9 car which he will also drive.

Highway to Help’s Riley-Dinan, meanwhile, will see Byron DeFoor, Jim Pace, Frank Beck and David Hinton handle driving duties.

The PC class sees Canadian road racing star Kyle Marcelli and Pierre Kaffer added to the No. 7 Starworks Motorsport entry.

Michael Marsal has joined the No. 25 8Star Motorsports Oreca FLM09 with Enzo Potolicchio and Tom Kimber-Smith, while Mark Wilkins and James Gue have been confirmed as the final two drivers in CORE autosport’s entry.

Additionally, Tomy Drissi, who tested with PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports at the Roar, moves to Performance Tech Motorsports to team with Ryan Booth, Rafa Matos, Gabriel Casagrande and Julio Campos.

The GTLM class remains unchanged, while there are to-be-announced drivers for both of the Level 5 Motorsports entries.

It’s understood that Bill Sweedler, Townsend Bell and Scott Tucker will spearhead driving duties of the No. 555 car, with Terry Borcheller and Mike LaMarra in the No. 556 car for Daytona and all of the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup races.

Other notable changes in GTD include the addition of Davide Rigon to the No. 49 Spirit of Race Ferrari and confirmation of TRG-AMR North America’s full two-car Vantage GT3 lineup.

The 52nd Rolex 24 at Daytona is set for Jan 25-26.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship