Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

BMW Confirms 2016 IMSA Driver Lineups

BMW confirms 2016 WeatherTech Championship driver lineup…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

BMW has retained its full-season driver lineup for the new M6 GTLM cars in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, confirming the return of Bill Auberlen, Dirk Werner, Lucas Luhr and John Edwards for the BMW Team RLL effort in 2016.

The successful Auberlen/Werner pairing, who finished second in the GT Le Mans championship with two class wins, will continue as season-long co-drivers and will be joined by Augusto Farfus and Bruno Spengler at the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

New BMW signing Kuno Wittmer, as well as Graham Rahal will complete the lineup in the sister M6 GTLM alongside Luhr and Edwards in the WeatherTech Championship season-opener next month.

In addition to the BMW Team RLL squad, which returns for an eighth consecutive season, the Bavarian manufacturer has also confirmed that works driver Jens Klingmann will contest the entire WeatherTech Championship in one of Turner Motorsport’s new BMW M6 GT3 cars.

Klingmann, Markus Palttala, Michael Marsal and Bret Curtis will be joined by BMW Motorsport junior Jesse Krohn and works drivers Marco Wittmann and Maxime Martin for Daytona.

Turner took delivery of its two new cars, one of them being chassis No. 01, in Munich today prior to the evening’s end-of-year awards ceremony.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship