Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

BMW Finalizes Remainder of GTLM Lineup

Spengler replaces Blomqvist at BMW Team RLL; Daytona squad set with defending winners returning…

Photo: BMW

BMW has finalized its GTLM driver lineup for the 2020 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship with the retention of Connor de Phillippi, Jesse Krohn and John Edwards.

The news follows Tuesday’s earlier announcement that 2012 DTM champion Bruno Spengler will be switching roles within BMW to join the marque’s RLL-run IMSA team.

Spengler will replace Tom Blomqvist, who became an RLL regular this year, alongside de Phillippi in the No. 25 BMW M8 GTE.

Krohn and Edwards, meanwhile, have been confirmed in the No. 24 car for a third consecutive season.

BMW has also firmed up its driving quartets for the Rolex 24 at Daytona which the manufacturer won back in January.

Last year’s FIA GT World Cup champion Augusto Farfus and 2014 Bathurst 1000 winner Chaz Mostert will share driving duties with Edwards and Krohn while de Phillippi and Spengler will be joined by Philipp Eng and Colton Herta.

Eng, Herta, Farfus and De Phillippi were the four members of BMW’s Daytona-winning lineup earlier this year.

“We are entering our twelfth year together with BMW Team RLL,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt.

“We are also largely going with continuity when it comes to the drivers. John Edwards and Connor de Phillippi have a lot of experience of the IMSA series, and Jesse Krohn also did a good job in his second IMSA season in 2019.

“All three know the BMW M8 GTE, the series and the circuits in North America very well.

“Bruno Spengler has not only shown his class throughout his long DTM career, but also in his many GT outings on the endurance scene. I am sure that he will be a real asset to BMW Team RLL.

“At this point, I would particularly like to thank Tom Blomqvist for the great collaboration over the past five years. Whether in the DTM, WEC, Formula E or the IMSA series, like last season, Tom has coped well on any terrain. We wish him all the best for the future.”

While its Rolex 24 at Daytona lineup has been confirmed, BMW has not yet named any additional drivers for the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen and Motul Petit Le Mans endurance events.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship