Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Braun Secures CTMP Pole

Colin Braun scores second consecutive WeatherTech Championship pole at CTMP…

Photo: Scott LePage/IMSA

CORE autosport has scored its second consecutive IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship pole, following another impressive lap by Colin Braun in qualifying for Sunday’s Mobil 1 Sportscar Grand Prix.

Braun reeled off a 1:06.315 lap time in his No. 54 Oreca 07 Gibson, which was more than two-tenths clear of the competition in the Prototype class.

It marked back-to-back poles for the South Carolina-based team, which will feature team owner Jon Bennett on the driving strength in tomorrow’s two-hour and 40-minute race.

The No. 6 Team Penske Acura ARX-05 of Dane Cameron will start second, ahead of Robert Alon, who impressed at the wheel of the No. 85 JDC-Miller Motorsports Oreca to qualify third overall and only 0.301 seconds slower than Braun’s pole-winning time.

Renger van der Zande was fourth in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, with Jonathan Bomarito making it three different DPi manufacturers in the top-five in the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P.

Helio Castroneves, who suffered a sizable accident in Friday’s second practice session, rebounded to qualify sixth, ahead of the No. 52 AFS/PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports Ligier JS P217 Gibson of Sebastien Saavedra.

The No. 22 Tequila Patron ESM Nissan Onroak DPi of Ryan Dalziel, in the lone team entry this weekend, was eighth.

The Mobil 1 Sportscar Grand Prix gets underway Sunday at 2:05 p.m. EDT, with tape-delayed coverage on FS1 beginning at 4 p.m. EDT.

RESULTS: Qualifying

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship