Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Briscoe Leads After Four Hours at Sebring

WTR clinches the Michelin Endurance Cup championship with eight hours left…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Ryan Briscoe holds the lead under yellow for Wayne Taylor Racing as the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring has reached the four-hour mark.

The fourth full course yellow of the race came out just before the four hour mark when the No. 51 Inter Europol Oreca 07 Gibson of Kuba Smiechowski crashed out from the LMP2 class lead in Turn 17.

The No. 10 WTR Cadillac DPi-V.R has overcome an early drive through penalty and had been embroiled in a duel for the overall lead with the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P of Tristan Nunez who had run Briscoe down prior to the caution.

Under the yellow, WTR elected to stay out on track to clinch maximum Endurance Cup points and thereby the championship at the one-third mark, while the rest of the DPi field came in for service.

The No. 6 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 holds second in the hands of Simon Pagenaud, followed by Pipo Derani’s No. 31 Cadillac and the No. 85 JDC-Miller Motorsports entry of Stephen Simpson.

The pair of Mazdas both lost out under the pit stops and now run fifth and seventh, headed by the No. 77 now in the hands of Oliver Jarvis.

Fred Makowiecki heads up the GTLM field in the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR-19 with the No. 24 BMW Team RLL entry of Augusto Farfus and Nicky Catsburg in the No. 3 Chevrolet Corvette C8.R due to restart just behind.

Motul Petit Le Mans winner Alessandro Balzan and Scuderia Corsa are at the front of the GT Daytona field in the No. 63 Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo 2020,  followed by Riley Motorsports’ Marc Miller and Heart of Racing Team’s Roman De Angelis in a Mercedes-AMG GT3 and Aston Martin Vantage GT3, respectively.

Scott Huffaker and PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports took over the LMP2 lead after Smiechowski’s crash and was immediately called to pit lane for service.

Don Yount is now second in class for Performance Tech Motorsports but two laps off of the LMP2 lead, while the No. 8 Tower Motorsport by Starworks Oreca has been delayed by suspension damage and is currently fourth in class but back on track following lengthy repairs.

As noted, the first tranche of Endurance Cup points were distributed at the four-hour mark with with top runner in class receiving five points, while second and third place runners earn four and three points, respectively. All other cars receive two points.

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship