Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Gilbert Retires; Korthoff Takes Over Full Ownership of GTD Team

Ownership shakeup in GTD points-leading Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo squad…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GTD points-leading team is now under the full operation of Herb Korthoff following the retirement of Henry Gilbert from professional racing team ownership.

Initially run as Gilbert Korthoff Motorsports, the newly renamed Team Korthoff Motorsports squad reflects Gilbert’s departure from the joint operation that began its WeatherTech Championship campaign last year.

It is the latest change made to the Mercedes-AMG customer squad following Guy Cosmo’s controversial firing after the Roar Before the Rolex 24.

“After a successful five-year partnership with Herb Korthoff, I have decided to retire from pro racing,” Gilbert told Sportscar365.

Mike Skeen, who along with Stevan McAleer have become the team’s full-season drivers, explained that the ownership change technically occured prior to last month’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

“Most of that change was after Daytona to be honest,” he said. “Nothing has really changed [since] Sebring.

“There’s been a little bit of a change at the top but not really with any of the hands-on guys that work on the car or anything like that.”

Gilbert said he wishes the team “nothing but success” and has his “full support” in the future.

The driver-turned team owner explained he will return to his roots racing in HSR competition beginning this weekend at Sebring International Raceway.

Skeen and McAleer currently lead the season-long GTD standings, with this weekend’s Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach only counting for WeatherTech Sprint Cup points.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship