Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Hunter-Reay Joins WTR for Petit Le Mans

Ryan Hunter-Reay to complete WTR lineup for Petit Le Mans…

Photo: Barry Cantrell/IMSA

Ryan Hunter-Reay will join Wayne Taylor Racing for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season-ending Motul Petit Le Mans, the team announced on Tuesday.

The 2012 IndyCar Series Champion will team up with Ricky and Jordan Taylor in the team’s championship-leading Cadillac DPi-V.R, as a replacement for Alex Lynn, who was scheduled to rejoin the Taylor brothers for the ten-hour Road Atlanta enduro.

However, it’s understood Lynn has become unavailable due to Formula E pre-season testing at Valencia that week.

It will mark Hunter-Reay’s return to WTR, having finished second in the 2013 Rolex 24 at Daytona with Jordan Taylor and Max Angelelli.

“We are certainly looking forward to having Ryan back with us,” said Wayne Taylor. “I’ve always thought he’s one of the best American drivers out there and he’s enjoyed success with us before.

“He understands his job, which is to help Ricky and Jordan and the team secure the championship.”

Hunter-Reay will get his first laps in the Cadillac DPi during a two-day test at Road Atlanta, which kicks off today.

“Through our runner-up finish at the Daytona 24-hour and since then, I’ve formed a pretty close relationship with the team as a whole – Wayne, Jordan and Ricky,” Hunter-Reay said.

“The team has done an incredible job this season with five wins and leading the championship from the first round at Daytona.

“My goal is to fit in seamlessly, contribute in any way possible but, most importantly, do whatever I can to help this group win the IMSA WeatherTech championship.

“It goes without saying I’m really looking forward to getting behind the wheel of the Cadillac DPi-V.R.”

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship