Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Mul Replaces Pumpelly at Change Racing

Jeroen Mul set for IMSA debut at Change Racing…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Lamborghini GT3 Junior Driver Jeroen Mul will make his IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship debut with Change Racing, having been confirmed as a full-season driver alongside the returning Corey Lewis.

The 26-year-old Dutchman, a race winner in the Blancpain GT Series, replaces Spencer Pumpelly in the team’s Lamborghini Huracan GT3 lineup, which was announced late Wednesday.

Mul and Lewis will be joined by 2016 Pirelli World Challenge GTS Champion Brett Sandberg and 18-year-old Kaz Grala in the season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona, with Sandberg confirmed for the entire four-round Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup.

The four drivers, who are all Silver-rated, combine for an average age of 24.

The Robby Benton-led team has also confirmed Forza Motorsport as its new primary sponsor, in what’s been a busy off-season for the now second-year IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship squad.

“We are very fortunate to grow our partnership with Microsoft and to be representing the Forza Motorsport brand,” Benton said.

“This will not only give us an incredible global reach, but it will also add a lot of value for our existing partnerships and hopefully help continue to grow the world wide audience for IMSA.”

In addition to the new program with Microsoft, the team will also continue to work with its existing partners Monster Energy, Orion Lighting Systems, and Lamborghini Carolinas.

Pumpelly, meanwhile, has yet to confirm a ride for the Rolex 24, or the WeatherTech Championship season, although he is set to defend his Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge ST class title with RS1.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in WeatherTech Championship