Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Patron Endurance Cup Champions Crowned at Petit Le Mans

Patron Endurance Cup winners determined at Petit Le Mans…

Photo: Darren Pierson

Photo: Darren Pierson

Drivers, teams and manufacturer champions were crowned in the four-race, $300,000 Tequila Patrón North American Endurance Cup Saturday night at Petit Le Mans powered by Mazda.

At the eight-hour mark, Action Express Racing wrapped up the Prototype team championship by leading the second segment in the unique competition rewarding competitors in the four endurance races in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship: the Rolex 24 At Daytona, Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh From Florida and Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.

Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi took the Patrón Endurance Cup driver’s and Chevrolet the manufacturer’s championship in Prototype.

CORE autosport’s Colin Braun and Jon Bennett added the PC team title to the drivers’ titles they clinched at Austin’s Circuit of The Americas, and also joined James Gue in winning both team and drivers’ championships in the Patrón Endurance Cup in the No. 54 Composite Resources entry.

In GT Le Mans, the No. 912 Porsche North America Porsche 911 RSR driven by Michael Christensen, Patrick Long and Earl Bamber finished second to win the team championship, while Christensen and Long won the Patrón Endurance Cup driver championship. Porsche also won the manufacturer championship in the four-race endurance competition.

While the Petit Le Mans came down to the final minutes in GT Daytona, the Patrón Endurance Cup did not.

AIM Autosport and Ferrari clinched the team and manufacturer championships in the race’s opening four-hour segment with Bill Sweedler and Townsend Bell taking the driver championships as soon as they hit the required two hours, 15 minutes of drive time needed to score points.

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

1 Comment

More in WeatherTech Championship