Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Taylor Paces Incident-Filled Opening Hour at Sebring

Numerous incidents in opening hour of Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring…

Photo: IMSA

The No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 of Ricky Taylor leads the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring following an incident-filled start to the second round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.

Taylor, who pitted early in the opening hour on the brink of a yellow that did not materialize, holds a 0.685-second lead over the No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R of Pipo Derani.

Mike Rockenfeller runs third in the No. 48 Ally-sponsored Action Express Cadillac, meanwhile.

The pole-sitting No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac of Sebastien Bourdais pitted on the opening lap with a downshifting issue, losing one lap before appearing to have continued issues later in the following stint.

The early dramas continued but with the GTD class pole-sitting No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Zach Robichon, which came in with a differential issue that ultimately saw the car go behind the wall.

The No. 22 United Autosports Oreca 07 Gibson of Jim McGuire stopped on track, followed by an accident for Orey Fidani in the No. 9 AWA Duqueine D08 Nissan.

Both incidents did not bring out full course cautions, however.

Trouble also struck the No. 23 The Heart of Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT3 of Alex Riberas, who pitted with suspected engine issues, while the No. 36 Andretti Autosport Ligier JS P320 Nissan went behind the wall on the pace lap, also with an engine gremlin, before rejoining the action.

The No. 20 High Class Racing Oreca 07 Gibson of Dennis Anderson was handed a drive-through penalty for contact with John Farano’s No. 8 Tower Motorsport entry.

Additionally, the No. 02 CGR Cadillac received a drive-through penalty for Alex Lynn passing under a local yellow and the No. 36 Sean Creech Motorsports Ligier was seen spinning on at least two occasions.

Despite all of the chaos, the race has remained green from the start.

LMP2 is bering led by the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca of Ben Keating, with No. 74 Riley Motorsports Ligier out front in LMP3.

Mirko Bortolotti took over the GTD Pro class lead in the No. 63 TR3 Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo after a hard-fought battle with the pole-sitting No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo of Daniel Serra.

The Lamborghini factory driver got around Serra just shortly before the first round of pit stops.

GTD, meanwhile, is being paced by the No. 1 Paul Miller Racing BMW M4 GT3 of Madison Snow.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship