Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Tequila Patron ESM Confirms Watkins Glen Lineup

Pipo Derani, Scott Sharp and Johannes van Overbeek confirmed for 6H Glen…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

Tequila Patron ESM has finalized its driver lineup for the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen, which will see the return of the team’s Ligier JS P2 Honda to the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Scott Sharp, Johannes van Overbeek and Pipo Derani have been confirmed as ESM’s drivers for Watkins Glen, with Ed Brown electing to sit out of the third round of the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup.

A new-for-2016 rule limits each lineup to a maximum of three drivers for both Watkins Glen and the season-ending Petit Le Mans.

Brown told Sportscar365 that he’ll be in the car for Petit Le Mans, alongside Derani. The third seat for the 10-hour enduro at Road Atlanta has yet to be decided.

With wins at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and Twelve Hours of Sebring, ESM heads into Watkins Glen tied with the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP for the lead of the Patron Endurance Cup.

The Florida-based continues its FIA World Endurance Championship campaign this weekend at Spa-Francorchamps.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship