Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Wayne Taylor Racing Scores Second Straight Long Beach Win

Taylor Brothers and Wayne Taylor Racing Win Again at Long Beach…

Photo: Brian Cleary/

Photo: Brian Cleary/

Ricky Taylor made a Turn 1 pass for the lead on Christian Fittipaldi at the start of Saturday’s Bubba Burger Sports Car Grand Prix that proved to be the race-winning one as he and his younger brother Jordan Taylor co-drove the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP to victory on the streets of Long Beach for the second year in a row.

The win was the first of the season for WTR and the Taylor brothers who led a top-three Corvette DP sweep of the Prototype class podium in the 100-minute IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race.

The pole-winning No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP of Joao Barbosa and Fittipaldi finished second, 2.958 seconds behind the race winners.

Third place went to the No. 31 Action Express Racing Corvette DP of Eric Curran and Dane Cameron.

The top-five was completed by the SpeedSource-run Mazda Prototypes of No. 70 Tom Long and Joel Miller in fourth and the No. 55 of Jonathan Bomarito and Tristan Nunez in fifth.

Both Mazdas ran competitively all weekend with Long running a race-high second in the opening laps behind Ricky Taylor.

In the Prototype Challenge class, Misha Goikhberg and Stephen Simpson co-drove the No. 85 JDC-Miller Motorsports Oreca FLM09 to a convincing pole-to-checkered flag victory.

Renger van der Zande and Alex Popow finished second in the No. 8 Starworks Motorsport entry.

Third in PC went to the No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports car of James French and Kyle Marcelli despite a hard impact with the wall entering the Seaside Way straight on the checkered flag lap. Marcelli was uninjured in the incident.

CORE autosport was another car to suffer an incident, with contact between a GT car sending Jon Bennett into the wall early in the race and Colin Braun stopping on course shortly after due to the damage.

It brought out the only full-course caution of the race.

Next up for the WeatherTech Championship is round 4 of the 2016 championship at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, April 29 – May 1.

RESULTS: Long Beach

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.


More in WeatherTech Championship