Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Michimi, Gdovic Claim Race 1 Victory at Road America

Michimi, Gdovic give PPM first overall victory in Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America competition…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Brandon Gdovic and Shinya Michimi have given PPM its first overall win in Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America competition in Saturday’s opening round of the weekend at Road America.

The pair took the No. 46 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO to a flag-to-flag victory in the 50-minute race, which finished under full course caution following a multi-car accident at The Kink.

The first 20 minutes were hard run with the top-four drivers staying within two seconds.

Trent Hindman driving the No. 1 Wayne Taylor Racing, Lamborghini Paramus and Edoardo Piscopo driving the No. 50 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Beverly Hills rounded out the top three until the mandatory pit window opened up with 30 minutes remaining in the event.

As the pit stops cycled, Michimi brought the No. 46 in and handed the car over to teammate Brandon Gdovic.

The PPM team performed a flawless pit stop getting Gdovic out with the lead that he held through the remainder of the race as they won by 1.3 seconds over the No. 1 Wayne Taylor Racing, Lamborghini Paramus entry driven by Hindman and Jonathan Ceccotto.

“It was an awesome race for us,” Gdovic said. “Honestly, I really didn’t have to do much because I only had to run like four or five laps there with the two cautions.

“We led every lap, so I can’t think my guys on the PPM team enough for the fantastic job. It’s been a great weekend and we will try to go for another one tomorrow.”

Despite taking the checkered flag third overall, the No. 50 US RaceTronics team would not have a space on the podium. The team was assessed a 0.6 seconds penalty for a short pit stop handing the final place on the podium to Corey Lewis and Madison Snow in the No. 29 Change Racing, Lamborghini Charlotte entry.

The Pro-Am class looked to be a lock for the No. 71 P1 Motorsports, Lamborghini Broward duo of Loris Spinelli and JC Perez until an accident with the No. 17 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Beverly Hills of Brian Thienes in the closing laps prevented both cars from taking the checkered.

That allowed the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing, Lambroghini Paramus of Stevan McAleer and Randy Sellari to register the victory.

Patrick Liddy in the No. 5 P1 Motorsports, Lamborghini Broward lead for much of the opening stint in the AM class race, but an excellent drive by Damon Ockey in the No. 09 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Calgary took the lead following the pit stop cycle and earned the victory by just over a second.

A spin by Steve Dunn in the No. 47 PPM, Lamborghini Palm Beach handed the LB Cup class lead over to Brett Meredith in the No. 66 GMG Racing, Lamborghini Newport Beach at the 20 minute mark.

Meredith then went on to hold off Sheena Monk in the No. 7 Wayne Taylor Racing, Lamborghini Paramus car for the victory.

It was his second consecutive victory and third consecutive podium finish in the last three races after joining the series.

The weekend’s second race takes place Sunday morning at 11:55 a.m. EDT/10:55 a.m. CDT with Taylor Proto in the No. 50 US RaceTronics Lamborghini Beverly Hills on the pole.

It can be streamed live IMSA.TV and


John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA