Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Snow, Lewis Extend Super Trofeo NA Points Lead at Vallelunga

Corey Lewis and Madison Snow extend their points lead by winning Race 1 at Vallelunga…

Photo: Ryan Myrehn

Madison Snow and Corey Lewis extended their Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America championship lead by winning Race 1 of the weekend at Autodromo Vallelunga.

Polesitter Trent Hindman held off an early charge from Lewis in the No. 129 entry from Change Racing into the first corner and led by over a second after the opening lap, but the race turned on the mandatory pit stop.

Third-place running Edoardo Piscopo handed his car off to Race 2 polesitter Taylor Proto and come out in the lead, while Snow and Hindman’s co-driver Jonathan Cecotto ran second and third after the sequence cycled through.

Hindman had held a substantial lead prior to the pit stops, but his Wayne Taylor Racing co-driver Cecotto left the pits with a significant deficit to overcome.

Snow made the race winning pass of Proto, who along with co-driver Piscopo entered the weekend in second in the standings and just seven points behind the Change Racing duo, in the final 10 minutes and pulled away to win and pad his championship advantage, which is now nine points with one race remaining.

Class winners included Dream Racing’s Ryan Hardwick in Am, Brett Meredith in LB Cup for P1 Motorsport, and the Wayne Taylor Racing tandem of Alex Popow and William Hubbell in Pro Am.

Loris Spinelli, who only turned three laps in practice in his North American entry while focussing on his European series effort, started from the pit lane and set the fastest lap of the race only to drop out after a few laps.

The No. 110 Wayne Taylor Racing machine of Randal Sellari also found trouble when the American spun and made rear-end contact with the tire barrier. Sellari managed to return to the pits under his own power but did not return to the race.

Kei Cozzolino and Afiq Yazid won the Asian championship event which ran concurrently despite incurring a 2.3-second penalty for undercutting the minimum pit stop time.

Cameron Cassells and Shea Holbrook from the American championship were also assessed penalties related to pit stop times.

Race 2 is scheduled for 1 p.m. local time with live coverage available here and on the Lamborghini Squadra Corse Facebook page.


Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA