Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

47 Entries for 12H Sebring

Entry list for Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring released…

Photo: John Dagys

Photo: John Dagys

IMSA has released the entry list for 63rd Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, which features a total of 47 cars for the second round of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship season.

This year’s race, set for Sat. March 21, sees a noticeable decrease in entries, down from 63 cars from 2014.

ENTRY LIST: Twelve Hours of Sebring

Fourteen cars are set to do battle in the Prototype class, which will battle for outright honors in the second round of the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup.

Defending race winners Chip Ganassi Racing return with a single-car effort, as announced last week, for Scott Pruett, Joey Hand and Scott Dixon, joined by six other DP entries, including the Starworks Motorsport Riley-Dinan BMW with Scott Mayer and Brendon Hartley.

Michael Shank Racing has Justin Wilson listed alongside full-season drivers Ozz Negri and John Pew, instead of the previously announced Matt McMurry, while Olivier Pla has been confirmed in Krohn Racing’s Ligier JS P2 Judd, with no Alex Brundle.

RG Racing, which made its team debut at the Rolex 24, is not listed to take part, despite the team hoping to complete the Patron Endurance Cup.

Only seven Prototype Challenge cars are entered, with the No. 61 BAR1 Motorsports Oreca FLM09 not currently on the entry list. There are still a number TBAs to be filled as well.

GT Le Mans sees a nine-car entry, with the majority of the drivers from Daytona returning, including confirmation of a four-driver lineup at Aston Martin Racing, with Paul Dalla Lana being joined by Darren Turner, Pedro Lamy and Mathias Lauda.

Andrea Bertolini, meanwhile, completes Risi Competizione’s lineup, while Jens Klingmann and Augusto Farfus are the third drivers in BMW Team RLL’s Z4 GTEs, which will debut new liveries in honor of BMW of North America’s 40th anniversary.

AF Corse, which has entered Daytona with a Ferrari 458 Italias in both GTLM and GT Daytona, will only have its GTD entry for Sebring, with former Sebring class winner Enzo Potolicchio joining Rui Aguas, Marco Cioci and Piergiuseppe Perazzini in the No. 49 car.

Boris Said, who was recently re-classified as a Silver-rated driver, is listed as a fourth driver in Turner Motorsports’ BMW Z4 GT3, while Jim Norman is confirmed in the No. 73 Park Place Motorsports Porsche.

Other changes to the 17-car GTD field include the absence of the No. 28 Konrad Motorsport Porsche 911 GT America, as well as the No. 64 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship