Connect with us

Asian Le Mans Series

Shanghai Replaces Zhuhai in 2018/19 Schedule

Shanghai replaces Zhuhai in 2018/19 Asian Le Mans Series schedule…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Shanghai is set to host the opening round of the 2018/19 Asian Le Mans Series with the championship returning to the circuit for the first time since 2014.

The provisional schedule, released on the weekend of the season-closing Four Hours of Sepang, sees later start and finish dates while plans to expand to a five-race schedule appear to have been shelved.

The season will get underway at Shanghai on Nov. 25 before returning to Fuji, Buriram and Sepang. 

The Shanghai race is the week after the FIA World Endurance Championship is set to visit the Chinese circuit.

LMP2 and LMP3 champions will each receive an entry invite to the 24 Hours of Le Mans while the first and second-placed GT teams will be invited to the 2019 running of the race.

“Our objectives for next season were to create both a more attractive calendar, and to develop, with the teams, a more attractive platform,” said Asian Le Mans Series managing director Cyrille Taesch Wahlen.

“We have secured four Grade 1 circuits on dates that fit perfectly within the FIA WEC ‘Super Season’ break, whilst also giving more teams from both the region, and abroad, the opportunity to join us.

“We will continue to work with all stakeholders to ensure we create a sustainable environment for the series.”

The series has also announced that it has extended its tire partnership with Michelin through the end of the 2020/21 season.

2018-19 Asian Le Mans Series Schedule:

Nov. 23-25 – Shanghai
Dec. 7-9 – Fuji
Jan. 10-12 – Buriram
Feb. 22-24 – Sepang

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.

1 Comment

More in Asian Le Mans Series