Connect with us

European Le Mans Series

45 Entries for 4H Silverstone

Bumper grid set for European Le Mans Series at Silverstone…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

The European Le Mans Series is set for a near-capacity grid, with 45 cars entered for the season-opening Four Hours of Silverstone, which will support the FIA World Endurance Championship event at the famed British circuit.

ENTRY LIST: 4H Silverstone

A total of 15 LMP2 cars are set to take part in the first round of the ELMS season, including a second SMP Racing BR Engineering BR01 Nissan for Sean Galael, Antonio Giovinazzi and Mitch Evans.

It joins the previously announced No. 32 entry of Stefano Coletti, Julian Leal and Andreas Wirth, which is understood to be a full-season entry.

Reigning series champion Bjorn Wirdheim is listed in the No. 40 Krohn Racing Ligier JS P2 Nissan, filling in for Olivier Pla, who will be focused on his WEC commitments with Ford Chip Ganassi Racing that weekend.

Krohn’s entry, which has seen a switch to Nissan power, is being run by Greaves Motorsport, which fields a Ligier of its own as well, most notably for Memo Rojas.

Michael Lyons and Marc Goossens, meanwhile, are listed in the No. 48 Murphy Prototypes Oreca 03R Nissan LMP2 car for Silverstone, with the team also fielding the only non-Ligier JS P3 in the 20-car strong LMP3 class.

Murphy’s Ginetta-Nissan LMP3 will be driven by Americans Tony Ave and Doug Peterson, with the team set to debut the new Ave-Riley AR2 at the second round of the season in Imola.

They’ll do battle against 19 Ligier JS P3s, largely featuring a mix of French and Italian teams, as well as the Anglo-American United Autosports squad.

A total of 9 GTE entries are set to do battle, including four AF Corse-run Ferrari F458 Italias, a JMW Motorsport Ferrari, as well as two Aston Martin Vantage GTEs for Gulf Racing and Beechdean AMR.

AMR factory driver Richie Stanaway joins Stuart Hall and Roald Goethe in the Gulf-backed entry, while factory aces Jony Adam and Alex MacDowall are listed in the Beechdean entry alongside Andrew Howard.

Porsche factory drivers Wolf Henzler and Richard Lietz, meanwhile, are listed in the pair of Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSRs.

Henzler will drive the No. 77 Proton entry with Mike Hedlund and Marco Seefried, with Gianluca Roda and Christian Ried in the No. 88 car with defending WEC GTE-Pro champion Lietz.

Finally, quad-amputee Frederic Sausset will make his ELMS debut in the Frenchman’s specially equipped Morgan Nissan, which will also race as the Garage 56 entry in this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Sausset will be joined by Christophe Tinseau and Jean-Bernard Bouvet in the LMP2-based entry, which will run unclassified at Silverstone.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in European Le Mans Series