Connect with us


DragonSpeed Takes Fourth Pole of Season at Spa

Hanley secures fourth pole of season for DragonSpeed at Spa…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Ben Hanley has secured DragonSpeed’s fourth pole position of the European Le Mans Series season in Saturday’s qualifying session ahead of the Four Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

The Brit set a time of 2:02.457 in the No. 21 Oreca 07 Gibson while the DragonSpeed-run G-Drive Racing Oreca will start from second.

It is the third pole of the season for the white and blue DragonSpeed car driven by Hanley, Nicolas Lapierre and Henrik Hedman, while the G-Drive car started from the front at Red Bull Ring.

Enzo Guibbert made it an Oreca 1-2-3 at the top of the timesheets while Filipe Albuquerque secured fourth in the United Autosports Ligier JS P217 Gibson.

AT Racing will start from the LMP3 class pole after Mikkel Jensen posted the class’ best time with a 2:13.634 in the team’s No. 9 Ligier JS P3 Nissan.

United Autosports’ two Ligiers will start from second and third with Wayne Boyd putting the No. 3 car ahead of Sean Rayhall’s No. 2 Ligier.

David Droux was the fastest non-Ligier driver in the No. 7 Duqueine Engineering Norma M30 Nissan which will start fifth.

Matteo Cairoli took Proton Competition’s first pole of the season in the GTE class, lapping the Belgian track with a time of 2:16.757 in the No. 77 Porsche 911 RSR he shares with Christian Ried and Joel Camathias.

The TF Sport Aston Martin Vantage GTE will line up alongside the Porsche on the grid, with Nicki Thiim qualifying it in second, slower by 0.358 seconds.

JMW Motorsport’s Ferrari 488 GTE was the quickest of the Italian brand’s cars as Will Stevens put it into third in class.

The race will get underway at 12 p.m. local time on Sunday.

RESULTS: Qualifying

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is Sportscar365's European Editor and also Managing Editor for e-racing365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations. Contact Jake



  1. Johannes275

    September 23, 2017 at 9:59 am

    Seems the BOP has been made to slow the Dallara the fuck down.

    • Travis McBee

      September 23, 2017 at 10:44 am

      There is no BoP for LMP2…

      • Johannes275

        September 23, 2017 at 11:26 am

        It feels like that.

        • Mamozrenesis

          September 23, 2017 at 1:08 pm

          On slower track Ligier and Dallara can match Oreca’s pace, but when it comes to fast track like Le Mans or Spa the Oreca’s aero kit is definetly much faster.
          There is no BOP in LMP2; each manufacturer can update its car only once during the next 4 years (not 100% sure about 4).

  2. Pierce

    September 23, 2017 at 1:48 pm

    2:16s in GTE sheesh only expected that from the Factory Teams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in ELMS