Connect with us

European Le Mans Series

JMW Ferrari Excluded from 4H Silverstone; AMR Inherits Win

JMW Motorsport loses its GTE win in scrutineering…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

JMW Motorsport has lost its GTE class victory at the Four Hours of Silverstone on Saturday, after failing post-race scrutineering at the European Le Mans Series season-opener.

The car was found to have breached article 2.2.1a of the ELMS GTE Technical Regulations, for having an incorrect front splitter.

As a result, Rory Butcher, Rob Smith and Andrea Bertolini have been excluded from the results, and the team has lost its first victory in more than three years.

Aston Martin Racing inherits the class win, promoted from second, in the Beechdean-sponsored No. 99 of Andrew Howard, Darren Turner and Alex MacDowall.

The No. 96 Aston Martin V8 Vantage would have been promoted to second place, but Richie Stanaway was hit with a four minute time penalty after the race, for “unsporting conduct” after his battle with the AT Racing car.

This puts the No. 56 AT Racing Ferrari 458 Italia into second position, ahead of Aston Martin No. 96 with Stanaway, Stuart Hall and Roald Goethe.

Results: Four Hours of Silverstone (Revised)

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in European Le Mans Series