Connect with us

European Le Mans Series

Murphy Takes Win, Signatech Alpine Crowned LMP2 Champions

Brendon Hartley, Jonathan Hirschi claims victory in ELMS season finale…



Murphy Prototypes scored its maiden victory Saturday at Paul Ricard, but it was Signatech Alpine that was crowned European Le Mans Series champions.

Brendon Hartley took the Irish squad’s No. 18 Oreca 03 Nissan to a 6.255-second win over the No. 43 Morand Racing Morgan-Judd of Natascha Gachnang and Christian Klien, with the pole-sitting No. 38 Jota Sport Zytek-Nissan settling for third.

Hartley shared the wheel of the winning LMP2 machine with Jonathan Hirschi.

With a fourth place finish overall, Signatech Alpine’s Nelson Panciatici and Pierre Ragues claimed the class title following another race to forget for title rivals Thiriet by TDS Racing, which finished 22nd overall after losing more than five laps after losing a wheel.

The two teams entered the weekend tied on points.

Ram Racing scored its third GTE class victory of the year, which was enough to give Johnny Mowlem and Matt Griffin, as well as the British squad the class championship.

The duo finished ahead of the No. 66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari in second, with the No. 77 Proton Competition Porsche completing the podium in class.

LMPC class honors in the season finale went to Team Endurance Challenge’s Soheil Ayari and Anthony Pons, with the title going to teammates Gary Hirsch and Paul Loup Chatin, despite mechanical issues for the No. 49 entry.

SMP Racing kept their undefeated streak in GTC alive with their fourth class win of the season, enough to give the Russian squad and drivers Fabio Babini, Viktor Shaitar and Kirill Ladygin the class championship.

RESULTS: Three Hours of Paul Ricard

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in European Le Mans Series