Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Corvette Racing Retains Full-Season Driver Lineup for 2016

Corvette Racing retains full-season driver lineup for 2016…

Photo: Corvette Racing

Photo: Corvette Racing

With its 2015 racing season coming to an end this weekend at Road Atlanta, Corvette Racing already is casting an eye toward the future.

The team and Chevrolet announced today that its group of full-season drivers – Antonio Garcia, Jan Magnussen, Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner – will return to drive two Chevrolet Corvette C7.Rs in 2016.

The Corvette Racing program for next season is expected to include the full WeatherTech SportsCar Championship plus a return to the 24 Hours of Le Mans – a race Corvette Racing has won eight times including a stirring victory this year.

The 2016 season will see Corvette Racing campaign an evolution of the Corvette C7.R based on new GTE regulations that govern Le Mans-style GT racing around the world. It will make its racing debut for the 54th Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 30-31.

“We are pleased to have the Corvette Racing driver lineup set for 2016,” said Mark Kent, Director of Chevrolet Racing. “Antonio, Jan, Oliver and Tommy have been behind the wheel of the familiar yellow Corvettes for several seasons now.

“Their ability to work cohesively has resulted in numerous key race wins and championships. We are proud of the accomplishments these drivers and Corvette Racing have delivered, and we look forward to more success.

“Having our drivers in place provides Corvette Racing the opportunity to maintain its focus on preparing for the 2016 season.

“With the addition of new cars and competitors to our class, preparation will be key. Our goal is to ready ourselves for the 2016 Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona and start the season off with a repeat victory.”

The core four Corvette Racing drivers will contest their fifth season together, a testament to the importance of continuity within the team and Chevrolet.

In that span, each member of the quartet has claimed GT-class Driver’s championships. Gavin and Milner won the American Le Mans Series GT title in 2012 with Garcia and Magnussen taking honors the following year.

Since the start of the 2012 season, the group has combined to win 16 races in the ALMS, TUDOR United SportsCar Championship and Le Mans.

The team’s recent highlights include victories at this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans and Rolex 24, the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring in 2013 and 2015, and the 2014 Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.


More in WeatherTech Championship