Connect with us


25-Car Entry for 8H Bahrain Season Finale

Season-low 25-car grid confirmed for season finale at Bahrain International Circuit on Nov. 14…

Photo: Joao Filipe/Adrenal Media

A total of 25 cars are on the provisional entry list for next month’s FIA World Endurance Championship final round in Bahrain, marking the smallest grid of the 2019-20 season.

Toyota Gazoo Racing’s two crews will battle for the WEC drivers’ title in the eight-hour race, however the Japanese manufacturer will be the only entrant in the LMP1 category after Rebellion Racing confirmed its absence shortly after the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The field of 25 cars represents the first time that the WEC has attracted fewer than 30 entries to one of its races this season.

In addition to Rebellion’s withdrawal, the High Class Racing Oreca 07 Gibson has dropped off the LMP2 entry list.

A total of seven cars are shown in LMP2, while GTE-Pro has the familiar six-car entry made up of the factory efforts from Aston Martin, Ferrari and Porsche.

Ferrari has stuck with its usual 2019-20 WEC driver pairings despite a scheduling conflict with the GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS finale which is taking place at Paul Ricard on the same Nov. 14-15 weekend and affects all four of the marque’s Pro drivers.

The GTE-Am class contains 10 cars, while there has been a change in Red River Sport’s Ferrari crew with Bonamy Grimes now joined by Kei Cozzolino and LMP3 ace Colin Noble, rather than his usual co-drivers Johnny Mowlem and Charlie Hollings.

MR Racing’s Ferrari that Cozzolino previously shared with Motoaki Ishikawa and Olivier Beretta is not listed, although that car also skipped the Total 6 Hours of Spa in August.

Elsewhere, recently-crowned Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup champion Larry ten Voorde will partner Egidio Perfetti and Matteo Cairoli in the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC