Connect with us


33 Cars on Provisional Entry List for 6H Nürburgring

Provisional entry list for WEC 6H Nürburgring released…

Photo: FIA WEC

Photo: FIA WEC

With the 24 Hours of Le Mans now in the books, all attention for FIA World Endurance Championship competitors shifts to next month’s Six Hours of Nürburgring, which kicks off the post-Le Mans portion of the championship.

The provisional entry list for the fourth round of the WEC season has been released, featuring 33 cars.

ENTRY LIST: 6H Nürburgring

There are no major changes to the entry, aside from a few expected to-be-announced drivers and the return of some drivers to their respective teams after one-off runs in the French endurance classic.

All three factory LMP1 teams remain with unchanged lineups, with the third seat in the No. 12 Rebellion R-One AER alongside Nicolas Prost and Nick Heidfeld yet to be confirmed.

Nelson Piquet Jr. drove the opening three rounds but Mathias Beche was slated to return to the car post-Le Mans.

There’s also a TBA in the No. 26 G-Drive Racing Oreca 05 Nissan, following the pre-Le Mans departure of Nathanael Berthon. Will Stevens filled the seat at Le Mans but returns to the No. 44 Manor Oreca 05 Nissan.

Manor again fields two Oreca Nissans after only having a single entry at Le Mans. Both Richard Bradley and James Jakes also return to the British outfit and are expected to complete the season in their respective entries.

GTE-Pro sees a seven-car entry, with both Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GTs scaling back to two-driver lineups, as both Billy Johnson and Harry Tincknell were confirmed for only the first three rounds.

Johnson, along with co-drivers Stefan Muecke and Olivier Pla, currently lead the drivers’ championship after scoring maximum points at Le Mans.

The only seat still to-be-confirmed in GTE-Am is with Larbre Competition, as Paolo Ruberti is unlikely to return after sustaining a fractured vertebra that ruled the Italian out of Le Mans.

The Six Hours of  Nürburgring is set for July 22-24.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in FIA WEC