Connect with us

24H Le Mans

62-Car Le Mans Entry List Revealed

ACO releases full 62-car entry list for 24 Hours of Le Mans, most driver lineups confirmed…

Photo: MPS Agency

The ACO has revealed the full list of entrants for this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, which will remain at an expanded 62-car field.

Released on Friday, the grid consists of full-season FIA World Endurance Championship teams, a number of automatic entries awarded from the continental ACO-run series, as well as IMSA’s two at-large entries, plus individual selections to complete the grid.

LMP1 will feature a six-car class, featuring Toyota, Rebellion and Team LNT, with ByKolles Racing, which has yet to complete a race in the 2019-20 WEC season, placed on the reserve list.

Both Team LNT Ginetta G60-LT-P1 AERs are listed after electing to skip last weekend’s Lone Star Le Mans event at Circuit of The Americas, although are expected to be back for the remainder of the season.

Two-time and defending race winners Toyota Gazoo Racing will line up with its pair of Toyota TS050 Hybrids alongside two Rebellion R13 Gibsons, in what will mark the final race for the Swiss privateer squad.

The LMP2 class features 24 entries, including the eight full-season WEC cars that have been joined mostly by European Le Mans Series entrants.

It includes efforts from Algarve Pro Racing, Thunderhead Carlin Racing, Panis Racing and Duqueine Team, as well as IMSA entrant Performance Tech Motorsports, which make its Le Mans debut with Cameron Cassels, who secured an auto invite for winning the Jim Trueman Award.

The all-female lineup from Richard Mille Racing is also confirmed.

Rick Ware Racing, which received an auto-invite for winning the Asian Le Mans Series LMP2-Am title, has entered its Riley Mk. 30 Gibson in the race with Cody Ware the only confirmed driver so far. It will mark the car’s first Le Mans appearance in three years after Keating Motorsports’ attempt in 2017.

DragonSpeed has only gotten one of its two Oreca 07 Gibsons confirmed, with the second entry, for the team’s full-season IMSA program, listed as the sixth reserve out of ten.

The same is the case for High Class Racing, which had expected to receive entry confirmation for an all-Danish driven Oreca led by Jan Magnussen.

A total of 11 cars are set to do battle in GTE-Pro, down from the 17 that took part last year due to the end of the factory Ford GT program and BMW’s decision to exit WEC competition at the end of the ‘Super Season’.

WEC stalwarts Aston Martin Racing, AF Corse and Porsche GT Team are joined by IMSA teams Corvette Racing and Risi Competizione, with Porsche’s CORE autosport-run operation doubling the German manufacturer’s GTE-Pro effort for a third consecutive year.

Of note, Risi’s Ferrari 488 GTE features an expected all-French lineup led by Olivier Pla and Sebastien Bourdais. They are expected to be joined by Jules Gounon, who drove for the team last year.

The GTE-Am class, which featured 17 entries last year, has 20 cars confirmed, mostly made up of full-season WEC entrants.

Among the additional entries confirmed include WeatherTech Racing, Iron Lynx and GEAR Racing, which is entered under the Danish flag with nominated driver Christina Nielsen.

GEAR made its program debut in January’s Rolex 24 at Daytona with a Grasser Racing Team-prepared Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo but is listed with a Ferrari 488 GTE Evo in GTE-Am. 

Garage 56, meanwhile, will return for the first time in four years, with an all-disabled driver lineup from Frederic Sausset’s Association SRT41, which will utilize a Graff-run Oreca LMP2 car.

A total of 75 applications were made for the 62 positions, plus ten reserves, which according to ACO president Pierre Fillon shows that the race still has a “magical draw”. 

“All four classes are equally popular and attract factory teams and privateers alike,” Fillon said.

“2020 will be the first 24 Hours of Le Mans for the Corvette C8.R and we will have several all-women driver crews. And we are delighted to welcome a Garage 56 entry, with an LMP2 prototype crewed by three disabled drivers entered by Frédéric Sausset.”


John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in 24H Le Mans