Connect with us


Jani Replaces Christensen in Porsche GTE-Pro Squad

Neel Jani named in Porsche’s GTE-Pro lineup for 2021, replacing Michael Christensen…

Photo: Porsche

Former LMP1 star Neel Jani will return to the FIA World Endurance Championship next season as a member of Porsche’s factory GTE-Pro driver lineup.

Porsche has confirmed that Jani will share the No. 92 Porsche 911 RSR-19 with Kevin Estre in 2021, replacing 2018-19 GTE world champion Michael Christensen.

The German manufacturer will again field two factory cars supported by Manthey Racing, with Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz staying on as drivers of the No. 91 machine.

New signing Jani made his GTE debut last month at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring where he expressed an interest in making further appearances in the formula.

The 37-year-old, who won the 2016 WEC title with Porsche, was replaced by Pascal Wehrlein in the brand’s ABB FIA Formula E World Championship lineup for the coming season but has found a new full-time position in sports cars.

Jani was an ever-present member of Porsche’s LMP1 squad, driving the 919 Hybrid for four seasons and winning Le Mans overall in 2016 en route to the world championship.

The Swiss racer remained in the top prototype class after Porsche’s LMP1 exit in 2017, joining Rebellion Racing for the 2018-19 ‘Super Season’ before making the switch to Formula E.

Outgoing Porsche GTE-Pro team member Christensen is one of six drivers no longer holding official factory driver status from next year.

The Dane made his WEC debut with Porsche in the 2015 season before being placed with Estre for the 2017 campaign.

The pair went on to achieve four victories, 15 podiums and a world title together and triumphed at Le Mans in 2018 with Laurens Vanthoor aboard the ‘pink pig’ 911 RSR.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC