Connect with us

24H Le Mans

Porsche Powers to Pole at Le Mans

Neel Jani takes pole;Porsche sweeps qualifying at Le Mans…

Photo: Porsche

Photo: Porsche

The No. 18 Porsche 919 Hybrid has secured the pole for Saturday’s 83rd running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, courtesy of Neel Jani’s new lap record of 3:16.887 set on his first flying lap in Wednesday’s first qualifying session.

With this pole, Porsche Team has extended its pole-wining streak to six consecutive races in the FIA World Endurance Championship, following its second straight 1-2-3 qualifying effort.

It is also Porsche’s fourth straight FIA WEC front row sweep, dating to Brazil last year, and Porsche’s first overall pole at Le Mans since a TWR-Porsche WSC-95 won the pole in 1997.

READ: Jani Smashes Lap Record for Provisional Pole at Le Mans

Jani will share the car with Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb.

Jani’s best time ended a run of three races in a row where the No. 17 car, qualified by some two-driver combination of Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley, scored the pole position.

The aforementioned No. 17 car will start second, with Bernhard’s best lap of 3:17.767 also coming on Wednesday.

Porsche’s third car, featuring the trio of LMP1 rookies in Nico Hulkenberg, Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy, starts third courtesy of Tandy’s best time of 3:18.862. Tandy’s best lap was set in the truncated second qualifying session.

Audi will start fourth, fifth and sixth with its three Audi R18 e-tron quattros. Loic Duval’s time of 3:19.866, set on Wednesday, was best of the group in the No. 8 Audi. Audi started fourth, sixth and seventh last year.

Neither of the Toyota TS040 Hybrids improved on their Wednesday time either, with the No. 2 Toyota ahead of the No. 1 Toyota in seventh and eighth overall.

The pair of debuting Rebellion R-One AERs will start ninth and 10th. The No. 13 car, driven by Alexandre Imperatori, Dominik Kraihamer and Daniel Abt improved its time by more than three seconds from Wednesday to 3:28.930, despite having a couple off-track incidents this week.

ByKolles improved its time with its CLM P1/01 AER by 3.3 seconds to end 11th at 3:36.825, just ahead of the leading Nissan GT-R LM NISMO in 12th at 3:36.995, with Harry Tincknell setting the time in the final 10 minutes of third qualifying.

There was very little movement in LMP2 as well. Richard Bradley’s first lap set on Wednesday, a 3:38.032 in the No. 47 KCMG Oreca 05 Nissan, netted the pole for that car in its Le Mans debut.

Bradley will share the car with Matthew Howson and Nicolas Lapierre.

Sam Bird, the 2014 GTE-Am class polesitter at Le Mans, led the timesheets in LMP2 in the third and final qualifying session with a best time of 3:38.939 in the No. 26 G-Drive Racing Ligier JS P2 Nissan.

That got that car up to second in class, but unable to make up the difference to the Oreca.

The pair of Gibson 015S Nissans, the No. 41 Greaves Motorsport and No. 38 Jota Sport cars, will start third and fourth with the No. 36 Signatech Alpine A450b Nissan fifth in the 19-car class.

The 83rd running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans gets underway Saturday at 3 p.m. local (9 a.m. ET).

RESULTS: Qualifying

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony


More in 24H Le Mans