Connect with us

24H Le Mans

Richards to Receive Spirit of Le Mans Award

David Richards named Spirit of Le Mans winner…

Photo: John Dagys

David Richards has been named this year’s “Spirit of Le Mans” winner, with the Prodrive Chairman and President of Aston Martin set to to be honored during next Friday’s ACO press conference.

Richards masterminded Aston Martin’s return to Le Mans in 2005, with the British manufacturer having claimed three class victories in the race since.

While it included a short foray into LMP1 with the failed AMR-One, Aston Martin has become a mainstay in GT racing, having announced earlier this year a long-term commitment to the WEC and the French endurance classic.

Richards history with Le Mans, however, began in 2002 with Prodrive-run Ferrari 550 Maranellos, which claimed a dominant GTS class victory the following year.

With Mark Webber serving as Grand Marshal, the ACO has not yet announced the honorary starter for next weekend’s race.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

1 Comment

More in 24H Le Mans