Connect with us


WEC Champions Crowned at FIA Gala

Brendon Hartley, Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber along with Porsche, Ferrari pick up hardware in Paris…

Photo: Florent Gooden/DPPI

Porsche’s Brendon Hartley, Timo Bernhard and Earl Bamber were officially crowned 2017 FIA World Endurance Champions, during the FIA’s Prize Giving Ceremony Friday evening at the Château de Versailles.

The trio, as well as AF Corse’s James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi, collected their hardware alongside champions from all FIA-sanctioned championships at the iconic French venue on the outskirts of Paris.

With four victories, including top honors in the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Hartley, Bernhard and Bamber helped take Porsche to its third consecutive Manufacturers’ World Championship, while Ferrari picked up the first-ever GT Manufacturers’ World Championship.

Porsche LMP1 Team Principal Andreas Seidl, LMP1 Vice President Fritz Enzinger as well as Ferrari’s Antonello Colletta were also on hand, with the No. 2 Porsche 919 Hybrid on display.

The World Manufacturers’ Championship shifts into a teams’ title next year for LMP1, following Porsche’s exit from top-level prototype competition, which has left Toyota as the lone manufacturer in the class.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC