Connect with us


WEC Champions Inducted into FIA Hall of Fame

29 drivers from past and present versions of the WEC honored at induction ceremony in Paris…

Photo: FIA

Champions from the past and present versions of the World Endurance Championship were inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Paris on Monday evening.

A total of 29 champions were honored, from Bob Garretson who won the 1981 title in a Porsche to reigning winners Sebastien Buemi, Fernando Alonso and Kazuki Nakajima.

Two-time Formula 1 world champion Alonso subsequently became the first driver to be initiated into the FIA Hall of Fame twice.

Twelve of the honored drivers won the original WEC drivers’ title which was contested from 1981 to the end of 1992.

Inductees from this period included six-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Jacky Ickx, five-time winner Derek Bell and double WEC champion Jean-Louis Schlesser, all of whom were present at the ceremony.

The award for 1984 drivers’ champion Stefan Bellof, who died in 1985, was collected by his brother Georg.

The remaining 17 inductees came from the current version of the WEC which has been running since 2012 and is now in its eighth consecutive season.

This saw drivers from the LMP1 programs of Audi, Porsche and Toyota arrive on stage to accept their accolades.

The WEC is the third FIA world championship to be recognized in the Hall of Fame, which was set up in 2017 with an initial cohort of the 33 Formula 1 champions.

It was then expanded earlier this year to include the 17 World Rally drivers’ champions.

Monday’s ceremony for the WEC induction also featured a small gathering of famous sports cars, including an ex-Jacky Ickx/Jochen Mass Porsche 956 and the 2013 title-winning Audi R18 e-tron quattro.

FIA WEC Hall of Fame Inductees

Bob Garretson (1981)
Jacky Ickx (1982, 1983)
Stefan Bellof (1984)
Derek Bell (1985, 1986)
Hans-Joachim Stuck (1985)
Raul Boesel (1987)
Martin Brundle (1988)
Jean-Louis Schlesser (1989, 1990)
Mauro Baldi (1990)
Teo Fabi (1991)
Yannick Dalmas (1992)
Derek Warwick (1992)
Andre Lotterer (2012)
Marcel Fassler (2012)
Benoit Treluyer (2012)
Allan McNish (2013)
Loic Duval (2013)
Tom Kristensen (2013)
Anthony Davidson (2014)
Sebastien Buemi (2014, 2018-19)
Brendon Hartley (2015, 2017)
Mark Webber (2015)
Timo Bernhard (2015, 2017)
Marc Lieb (2016)
Neel Jani (2016)
Roman Dumas (2016)
Earl Bamber (2017)
Kazuki Nakajima (2018-19)
Fernando Alonso (2018-19)

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC